eCrime Research Summit

Researchers Call for Papers

(* View This Year's Accepted Papers Here *)

The eighth IEEE eCrime Researchers Summit 2013 once again will be held in conjunction with the 2013 APWG General Meeting between September 17-18, 2013 in San Francisco, California.
(download CFP: PDF / TEXT)

eCRS 2013 consist of two full days which bring together academic researchers, security practitioners, and law enforcement to discuss all aspects of electronic crime and ways to combat it. Topics of interests include (but are not limited to):
  • Case studies of current attack methods, including phishing, malware, rogue antivirus, pharming, crimeware, botnets, and emerging techniques
  • Case studies of online advertising fraud, including click fraud, malvertising, cookie stuffing, and affiliate fraud
  • Case studies of large-scale take-downs, such as coordinated botnet disruption
  • Technical, legal, political, social and psychological aspects of fraud and fraud prevention
  • Economics of online crime, including measurement studies of underground economies and models of e-crime
  • Uncovering and disrupting online criminal collaboration and gangs
  • Financial infrastructure of e-crime, including payment processing and money laundering
  • Techniques to assess the risks and yields of attacks and the effectiveness of countermeasures
  • Delivery techniques, including spam, voice mail, social network and web search manipulation; and countermeasures
  • Techniques to avoid detection, tracking and take-down; and ways to block such techniques
  • Best practices for detecting and avoiding damages to critical internet infrastructure, such as DNS and SCADA, from electronic crime activities
  • Mobile (in)security, including research relating to malware, jailbreaking and user interfaces
Accepted papers will be published in proceedings. In addition, cash awards will be given for the best paper overall and the best student co-authored paper. A limited number of cash travel awards will also be made to student authors of papers and posters.

To accommodate the publishing traditions of different fields (e.g., the social sciences), authors of accepted papers can ask that only a one page abstract of the paper appears in the proceedings, along with a URL pointing to the full paper. Authors should guarantee the link to be reliable for at least two years. This option is available to accommodate subsequent publication in journals that would not consider results that have been published in preliminary form in a conference proceedings. The full paper must be submitted electronically for review by the submission deadline (July 12, 2013) and formatted just like papers submitted for full-text publication.
Instructions for Authors
eCRS has adopted the IEEE publication format.
Submissions should be in English, in PDF format with all fonts embedded, formatted using the the IEEE conference template, found here: Submissions should include author names, affiliations and acknowledgments. They should not exceed 12 letter-sized pages, not counting the bibliography and appendices. Papers should begin with a title, abstract, and an introduction that clearly summarizes the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Papers should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation, relevance to practical applications, and a clear comparison with related work. Committee members are not required to read appendices, and papers should be intelligible without them. Submitted papers risk being rejected without consideration of their merits if they do not follow all the above guidelines. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings.

Authors will be asked to indicate whether their submissions should be considered for the best student paper award; any paper co-authored by a full-time student is eligible for this award.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference. A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are given priority to receive such assistance. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the general chair after August 20.

Full papers have to be submitted via easychair: First, papers have to be registered, then authors can upload their papers. A successful submission can be viewed in EasyChair, and a confirmation email is sent to the corresponding author. Please make sure you receive that confirmation email when you submit, and follow the directions in that email if you require any follow up.

Case Studies
A special category is available in the paper submission system for Case Studies. This category allows for industrial research and case studies that do not qualify as full academic papers. Note though that papers submitted to this category are highly technical. For consideration in this category please submit your case study via easychair: First, Case Studies have to be registered, then authors can upload their papers. A successful submission can be viewed in EasyChair, and a confirmation email is sent to the corresponding author. Please make sure you receive that confirmation email when you submit, and follow the directions in that email if you require any follow up.

Important Dates: (11:59pm US EDT)
    Full Papers and Case Studies registration due: July 12, 2013
    Full Papers and Case Studies submissions due: July 12, 2013
    Paper Notifications due:  August 16, 2013
    Conference: September 17-18, 2013
    Camera ready due: September 28, 2013

Organizing Committee
General Chair: Randy Vaughn, Baylor University

Program Co-Chairs
Markus Jakobsson, PayPal
Tyler Moore, SMU

Steering Committee
Don M. Blumenthal, Public Interest Registry
Jay Brennan, Mitre
Markus Jakobsson, PayPal
Oliver Friedrichs, Immunet
Susanne Wetzel, Stevens Institute of Technology

Technical Program Committee
Saeed Abu-Nimeh, PayPal
Manos Antonakakis, Damballa
Nicolas Christin, Carnegie Mellon University
Richard Clayton, University of Cambridge
Michael Collins, RedJack
Benjamin Edelman, Harvard Business School
Serge Egelman, University of California, Berkeley
Ori Eisen, 41st Parameter
Vaibhav Garg, Drexel University
Jens Grossklags, The Pennsylvania State University
Thorsten Holz, Ruhr-University Bochum
Iulia Ion, Google
Grainne Kirwan, IADT
Christian Kreibich, International Computer Science Institute
Corrado Leita, Symantec Research
Kirill Levchenko, University of California, San Diego
Nasir Memon, NYU Poly
Thomas Morris, Mississippi State University
Jose Nazario, Invincea Labs
Roberto Perdisci, University of Georgia
Aunshul Rege, Temple University
Nachum Shacham, eBay
Elaine Shi, University of Maryland, College Park
Dawn Song, University of California, Berkeley
Sid Stamm, Mozilla
Brad Wardman, PayPal
Erin Kenneally, CAIDA, UC San Diego
Debin Liu, PayPal

SILVER SPONSOR StubHub! StubHub! ReturnPath
BRONZE SPONSOR PhishLabs RiskIQ VISA BrandProtect Wombat Security
PROGRAM SPONSORS Organization of American StatesSTOP. THINK. CONNECT.